About Us

The Board on Agriculture Assembly: Structured for Success


  The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) represents 244 public universities and is comprised of various commissions, boards, and sections. One of the most prominent and legislatively active APLU organizations is the Board on Agriculture Assembly (BAA), which represents the interests of land-grant colleges of agriculture and natural resources and related institutions.

BAA Structure

  The BAA was reconstituted in 1999 and is now comprised of five sections: (1) Administrative Heads Section; (2) Experiment Station Section; (3) Cooperative Extension Section; (4) Academic Programs Section; and (5) International Agriculture Section. Management of the BAA falls to its 10-member Policy Board of Directors (PBD). The BAA has two standing committees that report to the PBD:

  • Budget and Advocacy Committee. The BAC develops the annual federal appropriations priorities for the BAA and oversees the system’s advocacy firm (Cornerstone Government Affairs). The chair and advocacy chair of the BAC are drawn from the Administrative Heads Section and the other voting members represent the BAA’s sections and other APLU boards (e.g. Human Sciences and Veterinary Medicine) and sections (e.g. Forestry) and other affiliated organizations. 

  • Committee on Legislation and Policy. The CLP develops the BAA’s recommendations to Congress for the Farm Bill (which is rewritten about every five years) and other authorizing bills. Like the BAC, the CLP is led by an AHS member and is broadly representative of the BAA and as well as other APLU boards/sections.

  In addition to these two permanent committees, the BAA has a corps of about 125 citizen advocates from around the country who are appointed by their respective land-grant deans and directors. This group — the Council for Agricultural Research, Extension, and Teaching (CARET) — meets once a year in Washington, DC, in a joint session with the Administrative Heads Section. The CARET-AHS delegations are briefed by the BAC leadership and Cornerstone on the system’s appropriations priorities for the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and then fan out across Capitol Hill to deliver those priority requests to House and Senate offices.


Policy Board of Directors

  Chaired by Thomas G. Coon - Vice President, Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  Oklahoma State University

The Policy Board of Directors (PBD) of the Board on Agriculture Assembly (BAA) takes appropriate action on key matters affecting the interests of the member institutions and of the Assembly and is responsible to APLU for the management of Assembly affairs. 

Policy Board of Directors>>

Budget and Advocacy Committee

  Chaired by Paul Patterson

  Dean, College of Agriculture and Director, Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station
  Auburn University

The Budget and Advocacy Committee (BAC) is one of two standing committees of the Board on Agriculture's Policy Board of Directors, and is responsible for the preparation of an annual budget recommendation for those matters relating to agriculture and related areas that are of special concern to the member institutions and for coordinating the presentation of these recommendations to the BAA Policy Board of Directors in a timely fashion. The BAC also will work with the Council for Agricultural Research, Extension, and Teaching (CARET) and undertake the necessary and appropriate advocacy activities to effectively implement the budget recommendations adopted by the BAA Policy Board of Directors. The BAC communicates these budget recommendations to the APLU Council on Governmental Affairs, federal agencies  (including the U. S. Department of Agriculture and the Office of Management and Budget), U.S. House of Representatives and United States Senate, and other individuals and groups as deemed appropriate by the BAC.

Budget and Advocacy Committee >>

Committee on Legislation and Policy

  Chaired by Marshall Stewart

  Vice Chancellor of Extension and Engagement

  University of Missouri

The Committee on Legislation and Policy (CLP) is one of two standing committees of the Board on Agriculture's Policy Board of Directors, and is responsible for coordinating all activities of the Board on Agriculture Assembly (BAA) as it relates to Farm Bill legislation and other legislative and/or regulatory activities of interest to the BAA.  This includes:  developing and implementing strategies in the initial development of the legislation; coordinating a support base for initiatives development by the CLP as the legislation moves through the Congress and/or the Executive Branch; and, monitoring and impacting subsequent programs and regulations that are authorized in the legislation.

The voting membership of the Board on Agriculture Assembly's Committee on Legislation and Policy is representative of the diverse agricultural interests served by the Board on Agriculture Assembly.  Highlights and minutes of the CLP conference calls and face-to-face meetings can be found by clcking on the word "minutes" found in this sentence.

Cornerstone Government Affairs is the Washington-based government relations firm under contractual services to the Board on Agriculture Assembly to provide advocacy and consulting services to the Board on Agriculture Assembly and assists on budget and legislative issues. 

Committee of Legislation and Policy >>